SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bille_gw

New to Adeniums...looking for a bit of advice and support

Bill
8 years ago

I'm pretty new at this Adenium stuff. Actually have been growing them....ahhhh, well, IT.....for almost a week now.

First, perhaps a bit about me. I'm an older geezer - I now live in the central part of SC. Retired from the US Navy many years ago, and now am fully retired after completing a second career in retail management.

I had my own small greenhouse and was growing orchids long before I retired from the Navy. I worked for a local orchid nursery on two different occasions after the Navy, and have never really ever gotten them out of my system.

I recently started tinkering with African Violets, but they're just another plant to grow right now.

I have always been fascinated with Adeniums, but was never willing to fork out the $$$ for a nice plant, and all the ones I usually saw for sale were on the discount rack someplace, two days from dead, and still priced more than I wanted to risk on a plant I really knew nothing about.

Last week all that changed. I was in a Lowes in Columbia, SC and they had a whole rolling (discount) rack of Adeniums. These plants really looked pretty good to me....rock solid, most with healthy leaves, All had been pruned, and had nice new sprouts, and a couple with a flower still hanging on. $5.00.....couldn't resist.

One of these plants had a brilliant red flower still hanging on...The darkest Adenium bloom I had ever seen...SOLD!

Here's the plan.....with photos to support it.

Here's the new addition to my plant collection. Of course I didn't get a photo of the bloom, it dropped off the day before this was taken....You should never think that I would be so lucky as to get a photo of the bloom on a plant I planned to show to the world.