SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sashephe

Fertilizer + ideal shape and colour for peppers in containers

9 years ago

Hello Gardenweb,

First, I'd like to thanks everyone here for providing a large percentage of the information I've used to embark on the journey of gardening. This is my first time ever trying to grow anything, so I'm sure there is a ton yet to be learned, but I'm definitely more educated than I was 3 months ago. All of that said, I do have a couple of questions regarding my pepper plants that are currenty containerized. It's likely many of them will remain in containers, as I am interested in trying to overwinter them, although some will be planted in the ground here in a few weeks.

Either way, my questions specifically address fertilizer requirements. I'll give some specifics about the situation first.

- The peppers retain their nursery soil, which appear to be peat based, but also shows perlite and some type of bark (looks like pine, but I can't be sure). They have all been potted up since their purchase, and when I potted them up I used a 40/30/30 mix of peat, sifted pine bark, and perlite.

- They are under an 8 bulb, 4 foot t5ho fixture, on for 16 hours each day, with a south facing window, and fan on one side, and something called Pandafilm on the other 3 sides (it's reflective film I grabbed from the local hydro shop to keep the light from leaking out.

- The two dark green bell pepper plants have been fertilized with primarily 3-2-2 fish emulsion. All of the other pepper plants have not received any fertilizer (other than compost tea, made in an aerated 5 gallon bucket with compost from a pile the previous home owner had created) since they were purchased from the nursery. I'll explain why here in a second.