SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
freyja5

Question re fertilizing container veggies

freyja5
14 years ago

I am very new to veggie gardening (this is my first year) and am trying to be as organic as I can. I have scarlet runner beans and a patio tomato in 18 inch pots that have grown fairly well so far. I've been using an organic fish fertilizer (5-1-1) that I dilute in water as per the directions. The bottle says to feed vegetables every 3-4 weeks.

Recently, my beans started turning a very light green colour (some of the bottom leaves are almost yellow now). They have reached the top of my support poles and are starting to flower.

I was just wondering if this might indicate the need for more fertilizer? And if so, do I disregard the "3 - 4 weeks" as it says on the bottle and feed weekly or something? If I fertilize more often, do I still use the same strength?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!

Comments (15)

• linchat
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Could be nitrogen, could be Iron / calcium. I might get slapped around for this, but, fish emulsion on leaves of plants (in pots) good, but to the roots bad. Container gardening is not earth gardening. I would not poor fish emulsion directly into a pot. Try some Miracle Grow and see if it corrects the issue.

Organic in pots to me, means no pesticides on the leaves. But, they have to be fertilized, just the way it is. Container soil does not offer a plant what mother earth can offer.

• kippie
    14 years ago

I agree with linchat - going organic in containers is hard. I've had some luck this year with topdressing each pot with coffee grounds and some compost, but I've been doing that every 2 - 3 weeks since my plants germinated. I also used potting soil that had leaf compost in it.