SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jeniniowa

Need help estimating price for kitchen & second floor bath remodel

Jennifer Weinman
9 years ago

Forgive me in advance if all of this comes off as totally uninformed or novice or even COMPLETELY ridiculous to even ask. I'm still learning and have a lot to figure out! We are at the very early stages of planning and budgeting and figuring out what is feasible with our house and our budget. We haven't finalized a total design yet, though we have some specific ideas in mind, but will definitely need to get an architect involved since it's going to be a big job. I actually don't really think it's feasible to even get a full grasp of the entire price at this point because there are so many unknowns. We live in a 100 year old house with plaster walls and I'm anticipating some surprises along the way. Mostly, I'm looking for ideas for the general materials, labor, plumbing, electric side of things. I can price out cabinets, flooring, tile, counters, fixtures, doors, etc on my own. It's the rest that is kind of a big question mark to me.

For reference, we are in a small town in Iowa. We've found costs for plumbing/electrical to be maybe a tad lower than most larger midwest markets, same for GCs that we've worked with in the past. We are willing to DIY a fair amount, but would like to hire out electrical, plumbing, framing, and the bigger exterior work. We are fine with doing tile, paint, assembly, and probably most installation. I know how to drywall and do the finish work on walls to prep for painting (thank you college summer job for teaching me that!) We will likely try to repurpose as much trim and flooring that we can since it's in good shape and original to the house.