SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lovessoldiers

Kitchen Reno - Need Corroboration / Suggestions / Guidance

LovesSoldiers
11 years ago

Greetings! I am a long time lurker on Gardenweb and would like to solicit your expertise concerning our upcoming kitchen remodel. It is a one butt kitchen but DH sits on the other side of the counter and keeps me company while I cook. I cook every night. Best time of the year is when the kids come home for the holidays (DS in the military; DD at college) and we throw down! Big meals 3x a day then! (See? I read the instructions!). Newbie here, so hope the pictures work!

Our home is another one with an identity crisis. When we purchased it three years ago, it had all the very best from 1991 including lots of gold lame�, faux paintwork, heavy brass lighting, marble flooring, granite inlays in the hardwood, etc.

We have drabbed it down considerably and it feels much homier; however, it still has several elements that don�t quite "flow," with our kitchen being the worst offender.

I have actually had visitors who have stopped short upon entering the kitchen and said, "It doesn�t go with the rest of your house!"

I "THINK" the appropriate approach would be a "traditional" kitchen; however, if I am wrong please chime in. We "like" a lot of styles, but believe the traditional would match the rest of our home best. Shaker cabinets seem a little plain compared to our other rooms, so we were thinking more along the lines of the Schuler Marietta door with maybe a different style of cabinetry for the island (but keeping the color and granite the same as the perimeter). I am contemplating "White Chocolate" (creamy white) cabinets with Antique Brown granite and biscuit subway tile backsplash. I have a white oak floor; the picture was taken against our maple butcherblock table for lighting. Again, if this is not a good idea, please let me know. We are open to all advice.