SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
regmoses

endlessly looking at backsplash options

regmoses
12 years ago

Sorry, another backsplash issue.

I've looked at every kitchen on this website, plus a thousand other images. I've shopped and returned .... I'm hopeless.

We installed our new kitchen almost two years ago and ever since I have been paralyzed when trying to decide on a backsplash. I see so many pictures that look like bad choices - too busy, competing with beautiful granite tops, or just looking "off" in color or style. That being said, I'm no designer.

I want something that works and is neutral so I can paint my walls in a few years and the backsplash will still look great. I am terrible at envisioning the end product and I only get one shot at this.

I totally regret not making this decision along with the rest in my kitchen. My husband is so irritated he's considering letting me change the tops (they're laminate). I'm wishing I had installed black counters. Wouldn't that have made it easier? Then, I'd just put in white subway and be done :)

I love my glazed maple cabinets and the black details in the crown and at bottom were our customizing ideas. But how the heck do you tie in the grey and brown and not be too dark? Does that matter? Can I go with creamy or white subways? Will an accent piece look just another horizontal stripe in the kitchen and be too much? Aaaaggghhh - this is so hard! I don't even know what colors I should be considering. HELP!

So, following are a few photos of my kitchen and the tiles we're considering.

Close-up of the counter. Wilsonart laminate - you can see the grey, with black, creamy undertones (at least that's what I see)

This seems wrong still, but matches. Is that what I should be going for? Matchy?

And here it is a little closer. (Big tile piece is still in plastic so I can take it back.)

Comments (45)

• blfenton
    12 years ago