SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ceph_gw

Qs because I'm still new to this - a long one

ceph
16 years ago

I'm new to this and new to this board, so here's my backstory:

I'm 25, a science grad student, have been an SD for nearly a decade and have a positive relationship with my SM. I'm a very active auntie to four nieces and nephews.

I've been involved with my guy, J__, for the better part of a year and it's quite serious. He has an eight year old son, A__, from a previous relationship. J__ and BM get along well, and A__ sharing/parenting is rarely an issue for them (it's not perfect, but it's not a spiteful relationship either)

J__ and I talked a LOT about my role with A__ when we first started seeing each other (in part because I haven't dated anyone with a child before and wasn't sure what to expect). The short version of our ~very~ lengthy conversations is:

His expectations of me are

a) that I'm nice to A__

b) that I respect his relationship with A__ and its importance in his life

My expectations of him are

a) that he takes me into account when making decisions about A__ and vice versa, treating both of us as important people in his life

b) that he let me and A__ take things at our own pace and feel our way around our new relationship without too much pressure from him

Our expectations of A__ are (remembering that he's eight, of course and can't be expected to act like an adult)

a) he is nice to me

b) is honest about how he feels about all of us

So far, we've all lived up to those expectations very well and I'm really enjoying having A__ in my life as part of having J__ in my life.

Here's where I have a couple of questions that I'd like ~constructive~ advice on: