SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ninja727

Grounds with no wire nuts!!

ninja727
15 years ago

Well, I made the mistake of having a friend help wire my entire house. I am just learning and he is fairly knowledgable, although not a licensed electrician. My problem is how he tied all the ground wires together........ he just twisted the bare grounds together numerous times, and then cut the ones not needed, and tied the others to the receptacles/switches. After reading some how-to articles on wiring, I'm under the assumption that this practice is dangerous??? How do I go about fixing this problem? It's going to be awfully difficult un-twisting all the grounds to add pig-tails. The greeny wire-nuts only allow one ground wire thru the nut right? I'm freaking out guys, cause I spent dozens of hours completing all the wiring, and I'm absolutely dreading taking the dozens of switches and outlets out to fix. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (24)

• joed
    15 years ago

Was it inspected? It should have been before all the switches and receptacles were installed. You install crimps.

• hendricus
    15 years ago

Our AHJ requires crimping, so very easy to fix that way. Just undo the long end of the ground wire, slip on a copper sleeve to cover all the twisted wires and crimp. The all purpose electricians tool has a crimping feature.

• Related Discussions

deep well 230v with 12/3?

Q

Comments (13)