SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jimandanne_mi

BM color fan--warm neutral for LR, grayish-blue for DR? (LONG)

jimandanne_mi
11 years ago

Sorry this is so long, but both colors have to work together, and I figured more info would keep people from going the wrong direction.

I have read lots about color and looked at tons of pictures, but am as confused as ever as to what colors of paint I should choose. I have no real decorating experience, and do not seem to "see" colors as well as many others do, as in "That has yellow/green/pink tones in it." All I really know is that the colors on the wall now are not right. Not terrible, but they just do not do anything for the overall colors in the rooms furnishings. I have already bought 8 sample pints of BM for the LR, and 5 that I tried in the DR (on ~1 ft x 3 ft pieces of leftover drywall), but all I have figured out so far is that they are either too yellow or too blue.

I just bought the BM Historic and Classic colors fan, and have been trying to decide what to sample next. Before I spend any more money, I am hoping that some of you can help me zero in on certain BM color names or #s. I will tell you what I THINK is going on, but please let me know if I am wrong!

ALL ROOMS--Ceilings are 9 ft, trim is tinted to match bisque kitchen appliances, and reads as off-white. DR & LR have white oak floors stained medium-light, which have an orange-yellowish cast. Lots of green leaves during the summer from the many large oak trees outside the large new windows (slight green tint?). The ONLY thing that will be changed is the wall paint color.

DINING ROOM The DR rug looks great with the floor, and I would like a paint color that completes the look of this room by making the pecan furniture look good, and that transitions well when looking into the LR colors.