SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
marilyn_c

Bayou Tails #2...Devoted Friends

12 years ago

Most people call them "tree rats" or worse, but in reality, pigeons are one of the creatures that very closely bond with humans.

When my parents moved from Friendswood, after I graduated from high school, my dad found a man to carpool to work with. He only had about another year to work before he retired and two years before he died. The man he rode with raised pigeons, and when he found out my mother liked all kinds of poultry and birds, he brought her some pigeons. You have to take them when they are just ready to leave the nest in order to get them to stay...otherwise, they will always fly home.

I didn't pay much attention to the pigeons until a few years later, my father had died, and she had a Mexican man who built a little house in her backyard, and lived there to help with her yard work, etc. No one could pronounce his name, so everyone called him Archie.

Archie was a very nice man, and he knew my mother loved her pigeons, so one day he brought her a baby pigeon, but it was too small to eat grain, so since I was going to vet tech school at the time, I offered to raise it for her. I raised it on cat chow soaked in milk.

We named the pigeon Archie, and I released him at my mother's house, but although Archie could fly, he preferred to walk and he followed us all over the yard, walking behind us.

One day I came over to take my mother to buy groceries, and as usual, Archie, was walking around on the patio. When we came home, as we rounded the curve to her house, there was the neighbor's dog, trotting home with Archie in his mouth. That was the sad demise of Archie, the pigeon.

I didn't raise another pigeon for about 20 years. I had bought some at a poultry show once upon a time, but they didn't last long before hawks ate them.