SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
gardurnit

Vintage Wood Frame - List of upgrades? New technology?

gardurnit
14 years ago

This is a different kind of post. I like new technology. I'm a scientist and aware of most new technoliges.

But I'm not aware of what's available in the marketplace. So I'm here wanting help.

The post is long but the above explains what I want.

Thank you.

--

What I am looking for help with:

I'm looking for some web sites that can help me with 'my old house' .

Product sites that cater to old frame buildings or sites that support people working on old frame buildings is

what I hope to find.

My home is in an area of about 50 similar homes. This kind of home is touted as being long lived.

see the videos

How Buildings Learn - Stewart Brand . youtube has 5 of them each 30min long

He says that old buildings that can change with their needs are the ones that last.

He points to the Painted Ladies in San Francisco where you see

many bright colored homes together having been used for rooming

houses, offices, private homes over the years

I've been to 'thisoldhouse.com' and found too much.

What I want to focus on today is the wood frame structure and finding sites

that cater to it. They should have new technology for this type of building.

I have to weigh the upgrades against the future rents or sale price of the property. *see below for description

About the house

The old home, I believe, is unique relative to the concrete slab 1 story homes

many people have in my town.

The fact that I have 9' ceilings, attic, basement and all wood construction tells me that my house might be

subject to unique improvements which benefit this type of house. Other unique qualities is lack of wall insulation

and in floor outlets for electricity and plumbing (in some cases).

I think this type of house would benefit from upgrades which might not work in other houses.