SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
westfield_gw

Furnace and AC replacement

westfield
14 years ago

Seems like this is a common topic here so please bear with me as I'm a newbie.

The basics, location Carmel,IN, just north of Indianapolis. Summers can get hot, especially humid, winters normally not too bad but generally at least a few days of sub zero. House is 2200 sf, 2 story, full crawl. Current system is Rheem, 23 years old. Furnace is 75,000 btu in, 80% efficient. The AC (2.5 ton) needs some major repairs, $600+. The furnace appears fine, but old. As a result I have been getting quotes on replacing both, and have narrowed it down to 2.

First option: Carrier Infinity 96 furnace and Infinity 16 heat pump, 3 ton. Includes Infinity thermostat, and a Honeywell media air cleaner. Dealer is also bumping up the warranties to 15 years parts and labor. Price after all rebates, tax credits, etc., is $6482. Sounds like a good deal. These are my issues with it:

1. No Manual J done. He is quoting a 120,000 btu in furnace, much larger than any one else. That seems inefficient to me. Maybe he has several in the warehouse?

2. I am leery of heat pumps, but from reading the forum that may be old school. Apparently the "cold" air blowing from them for heating issue has been dealt with and the reliability is not worse than a standard AC unit. True?

3. It seems like getting a dual fuel system will result in a high efficiency furnace doing noting but running a fan for at least half the winter. But with the tax credit, one is almost forced to go that way.

4. I know Carrier has a single stage heat pump (not Infinity) with a scroll compressor that is almost as efficient as the Infinity 16, but so far I can't get a quote on that setup from the dealer. Should I?

5. Many forum posts talk about the air handler. There is nothing like that on this quote. Should there be?