SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jyl_gw

Beets101

John Liu
14 years ago

For an upcoming dinner, I am thinking about an appetizer plate of thin sliced beets and thin sliced raw or blood-rare beef. I've never tried this combo before, just thought it could be visually attractive with the two deep reds and the tastes seemed complimentary. I might include some salmon sashimi if the color needs some variety.

Problem is, I've never done much with beets, beyond liking beet salads in restaurants and occasionally garnishing w/ julienned raw beets for color.

How would you beet-lovers suggest cooking them? Cook whole or slice first? Marinate? Seasoning, sauce? I want them to be deep red and juicy (like the beef).

I need a Beets 101 class.

Comments (41)

• sheesh
    14 years ago

I love beets. I cook them just like I cook whole potatoes: boil them whole, unpeeled, in plain water, until they are fork tender, like potatoes. When slightly cooled, steady the beet with a fork and remove the peel - the peel slides right off. Then slice and season with salt & pepper, maybe butter, sometimes a few drops of vinegar, serve hot or cold.

I don't want to offend any delicate sensibilities here but if you don't usually eat beets (your guests may not) it's only fair to warn them that in the next 24 hours, their urine and possibly their "other" will be dark red. The first time they see it, they will be quite alarmed, as it looks like blood. It is, of course, only coloring and not harmful or indicative of anything except having eaten beets. It only takes about one beet per person to have this effect.

If you do it, please be sure to post a picture of your serving platter. It sounds beautiful!

Sherry

• annie1992
    14 years ago

Like Sherry, my favorite way to have fresh beets is simply boiled until tender, run them under cool water to slip the skins, then slice and serve with salt and pepper. Yum.