SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
oberci

Please Help me choosing vine(s) for my South Wall

oberci
11 years ago

I apologize for the longish post but I really need some help! I'm new at all this but I'm all ears and ready to learn!

This is my first home and I am learning so much from these forums! I'm trying to do sections at a time, and I would really like to tackle the eyesore that is this wall. No, I don't want to remove it because I appreciate the privacy, I just want something more organic than a bright and massive wall. I'm not looking to completely cover every inch of the wall, but at least to break it up.

The wall faces SOUTH and gets FULL SUN, as in all day long. There's a 2 ft strip running along the front facing the street an another 2 ft along the back facing the garages. The side facing the garages has Calla Lilies happily growing in it although I hope to improve that side too, but let's leave that for later.

There was some sort of ugly plant along with bermuda grass growing on the street side that we tore out when we moved in. Some remnants are visible and I'm not sure how to remove it entirely. The soil itself is either just extremely dry, or really sandy (I think the latter, I can post pics). As I'd like to plant within a couple of months, I figured I would just dig it out about 8-12" deep and fill it in with topsoil. Thoughts?

As for what to plant... I was thinking something like ivy on the edges, a BOUGAINVILLEA (Orange Ice or Orange Glory) planted more towards the center, some more ivy-like type green plant farther down, next something with deep purple foliage or flowers (maybe a climbing rose like Night Owl), another bougainvillea of same variety as before, and some more ivy-like plant (same as others) to cover the step section nearest in the photo. I'm not set on only this number of plants, I just want to give a general idea of how I was hoping the wall to look.