SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
greenmanok

Okie gardening newbie needs help

greenmanOK (Zone7)
15 years ago

Hey everyone! I moved to the OKC area (Norman) fairly recently from Omaha and we just bought a house last fall so this is my first attempt at OK gardening. I've been borrowing from this forum all spring, but now I need some help.

Since our house faces south, I decided to work on the garden out there first. Man it gets hot out there! And the wind--my lord! The house came with a large-ish evergreen shrub that sits fairly close to the house and lots of room in front of it (and slightly undeneath) for plants. (I srongly prefer perennials.) In front of the evergreen gets the full force of the south sun, and slightly under it gets morning sun and some afternoon shade. With some local help, I recently headed to Home Despot (yes) and bought a bunch of stuff: Right now, in full sun I planted some variegated monkeygrass for some ground cover, and next to those a few lantanas. Closer to the house in mostly-to-full sun I have some society garlic, and in part sun I have lamb's ears. So how bad did I screw up?

The monkeygrass is doing fine, of course, as are the lantanas, which I understand are perennials here, though they lost their flowers about a week after I planted them. The society garlic also seems to be doing fine, though its flowers are going bye-bye fast and I wonder about its hardiness. The lamb's ear is alive, but wilts terribly, from the heat and humidity I suspect, even though it is protected from afternoon sun. I amended the soil using common gardening/potting soil, except for the lamb's ears, which I simply added a little sand/gravel to some topsoil for better drainage so they dont get too moist and rot. Any advice/comments on this scheme is most welcome.