SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
okiefamily_gw

will this work?

okiefamily
14 years ago

I am attempting to start seed this year. It is my first try and only my 2nd go around gardening so I thought I'd ask some of you more experienced gardeners if you thought my seed starting set up will work.

What you see in the picture is 2 9x13 glass casserole dishes with 3 in jiffy pots. in each jiffy pot is Jiffy seed starting mix with 3 seed of various tomatoes and peppers. Then another 9x13 on top. These are on top of a regular ol heating pad and under a shop light on my kitchen counter. I plan to put the seedlings on top of the inverted 9x13 when they sprout to get them closer to the light. I also plan to thin or transplant the seedlings down to 1 per pot, of course.

My concern is will the 2 9x13's keep enough moisture in, as you can see there is a small gap between the 9x13's. Do you think I need to seal the gap with saran wrap or something?

From will this work
Follow-Up Postings:

RE: will this work?

Kristin,

I think it will work just fine without Saran wrap or something similar.

I raise hundreds of seedlings indoors every year and I don't cover the seed-starting flats with anything at all, and my seeds germinate just fine. I know the conventional wisdom says to cover the flats with those little plastic domes or plastic wrap or whatever, but I don't do it. (You know, in keeping with my philosophy that all gardening rules are made to be broken.....)

When I used to use the little plastic domes, I think my seed-starting mix stayed too moist and every now and then I had issues with damping off (a collective name for some fungal diseases that frequently kill seedlings). Since I stopped using the domes, I rarely lose a plant to damping off, so I feel like I have better results without any kind of lid on the plants. Your results may vary.