SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
gina_w_gw

Rusting jar rings

Gina_W
17 years ago

Why do they rust so fast? I'm a newbie, but I noticed that these suckers rust immediately (after opening a jar and putting it in the fridge, or after washing). Are there "premium" screw-on rings I can buy that don't rust?

Comments (29)

• ksrogers
    17 years ago

Sorry, the rings will rust quickly. Usually if its from an acidic food lile pickles or stuff with vinegar and salt, the rings do rust quickly. Some prefer to remove the rings once the lids are concave and have been processed through a canner. As a substitute AFTER they are canned, you can always switch to the plastic screw on covers. These are not totally leak tight, but work very well to help hold the flat metal lids from falling off once a jar has been opened. I am now using several in my fridge, with half sour pickles, sweet and sour sauce, and even some dried herbs that are currently stored under vacuum. The plastic covers work well and are reusable. Unfortunately, they are not heat resistant to canning processing though, but can help to reduce and prevent the rust on rings, which are usually tossed out if they do become rusty. The metal lids on the other hand, usually hold up very well to corrosives like vinegar and salt, and I have only see the very edge of these start to rust a little. Because they are not recommended to be reused, I toss out the used lids once the jar is empty, wash the plastic cover, and reuse that over and over. A box of rings and lids runs about $2.50 or so, and ins't much more money compared to just a box of lids alone. Sometimes the rings get corrosive liquids trapped in the threads and this will just start the rust off, so once the jar is open, rinse the rings well and store, then switch to the plastic caps, but keep the metal lids on the jars until empty. This will help prevent the contents from leaking out should a jar get tipped over.

• gardenlad
    17 years ago