SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
julsie_grl

SALTY fermented dill pickles

julsie
17 years ago

This is my first attempt at fermenting pickles, and they came out horribly salty. My husband usually salts everything I cook, and even he complained that they were too salty! The brine I made was 1/2 cup salt, 1/4 cup vinegar, and 8 cups water. Has anyone managed to ferment pickles with less salt?

Comments (49)

• readinglady
    17 years ago

The amount of salt is crucial to proper fermentation. Fermented pickles will be salty, though they shouldn't be "horribly salty."

Is it possible you used table salt? Table salt weighs 10 oz. per cup while canning and pickling salt weighs 7 3/4 oz. per cup, so if table salt was used, the amount of salt by weight would be greater than recommended.

There are other possibilities, but we'd need to know more about the process. Are you eating pickles out of the crock? Refrigerating? Canning? Did you discard the original brine in favor of a finishing brine or strain and use the existing brine?

Carol

• ksrogers
    17 years ago