SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
organic_orion

Help with my peppermint plant!

organic_orion
17 years ago

Since I am new to gardening, I have a question that maybe some of you can help me answer....

When is is okay to chew the leaves from my peppermint plant? Your help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (15)

• Daisyduckworth
    17 years ago

In theory, you can start eating peppermint from the very first leaf that appears. Of course, that wouldn't be too good for the plant, would it? But once you have enough leaves to be useful, you can harvest as much as you like - but it's always a good idea to harvest no more than one-third of the leaves at any one time, then let the plant recuperate before harvesting again. Frequent harvesting encourages the plant to grow more leaves and prevents the plant from getting leggy.

These rules apply to most of the popular culinary herbs.

BTW, you WILL keep your mint in a pot, won't you? Members of the mint family have very aggressive root systems that keep trying to take over the planet!

• CA Kate z9
    17 years ago

My first thought was. "after you rinse the dirt off." I don't imagine the really old ones would taste like much and probably be tough.

Daisy: REAL GOOD advice on keeping the mint reined-in. 10 Years ago I planted mint in several areas just to get something planted that might stabilize the slopes. Now I rip-out armfuls every year just to keep ahead of the mint. Maybe I should create some liqueur made of mint just to use up lots of it. hmmmmmmm?

• Related Discussions

HAVE Lots Of Peppermint Plants

Q

Comments (0)
    Please see my want list and maybe something will match up - or I'll be glad to check your plant list to see if something will work out. Thanks & happy gardening, -Sheila
    ...See More

i must need peppermint shoes ! ! ! 4 my big mouth !

Q

Comments (19)