SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tannatonk23_fl_z9a

Blue Sky Vine - Thunbergia grandiflora

tannatonk23_fl_z9a
16 years ago

It jumped in my cart today while picking up some new garden gloves!

The tag says "full sun". Can anyone tell me if this really means full Florida sun? I have a couple of different spots I could use it that are either full sun or bright light/shade but no direct sun. Which area would you recommend?

Thanks - you guys are so helpful!

Comments (32)

• nikkers
    16 years ago

I have one growing on a trellis in full sun. It blooms all year round. I don't even fertilize and it still wants to take over the world. It is the one plant I have that attracts a LOT of attention.

You may try in part shade, but I have no experience in that.

Jo

• nova_gw
    16 years ago

I grew a Skyvine in my "old" garden in St Lucie county in full blazing sun and it did wonderfully. It would die back some in the winter but that was a good time to cut it back severely to keep it under control. Here is a picture of it before I left.

The vine is on the left side of the porch and this picture was taken in the spring just as it began to take off for the summer. It would grow all the way across the roof of the porch and onto the house. Needless to say give it plenty of room!

nova

• manature
    16 years ago

Mine was grown in full, blazing Florida sun, too, and did just fine. In fact, it got huge. But it does die back in winter, and is easy to prune if you need to control it a bit. Best to give it lots of room and watch it put on a grand show. The flowers are stunning! Great photo, Nova!

Marcia

• msmarion
    16 years ago

One of my favorite garden shops has a white one. She said it was rare. I tried to grow one as a house plant in NH...didn't survive. *sigh*

• tannatonk23_fl_z9a
    Original Author
    16 years ago