SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
fagopher

Off topic... Neighbors!!

fagopher
13 years ago

It is probably the wrong forum but I needed to vent. I have read in this forum many posts about plants for privacy so you don't see your neighbor... While I do understand and appreciate the need for privacy, I never though of this as big deal.. until now!!!

We are getting a puppy in the next few weeks, and we are doing some changes in the house to better fit it for the puppy. One of the changes is fence! Well, as I like do things on my own (and at the same time save some money) I decided to install it myself. Since I am no expert, I am doing as much research as possible. I got the city permit and everything I can think of (except my neighbor).

I started measuring the property lines... No big deal, is not a farm or similar so it is juts as easy as read the survey and measure the land around the house... right?

Well it turned out that my neighbor planted some bushes right on the property line and some even crossing it (so it means... In my property). Normally I would not complain, I do like plants and I wish more people plant more. I personally planted some bushes on both sides of my property, close to the line but never on the line! Anyway.. still no big deal! probably was a mistake.

So, I marked the property line as conservative as possible (as not no go over the other side), I guess he noticed it and later approached me to give me a heads up. "I cannot install the fence on the drainage", I know every property (at least every new house in normal communities) have a drainage area so the water can flow! and I know owners cannot install/build anything that blocks the water on top of the drainage area but a fence.. Well, still a good heads up, so I called the city and asked if this was the case. As I was thinking, I am allowed to install it on the property line. Of course I want to give a couple of inches inside my side (just to be on the safe side).