SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
pattioh_gw

RSVP: Tell me about your Winter Sowing,

PattiOH
17 years ago

Hi All,

When I think of Winter Sowing, I feel like a kid standing on the edge of the pond, dragging her toe in the water, trying to decide if she wants to take the plunge or not.

I tried winter sowing two years ago. A TOTAL DISASTER!

I have been gardening for many, many years with great success, but somehow when it comes to seeds I'm a flop.

I've amassed a trove of half&half waxed cardboard containers (yes, I have a coffee addiction)and I thought I could use those with some sandwich bag covers. I know about the slits and drainage and moist soil.

I wonder if I am starting too soon? Or didn't I give the seeds enough time to sprout? Maybe they didn't get enough sun? Too much sun? Agghhhhh! Please tell me:

When do you plant your seeds? (For example if the package says you need to start 6 weeks before last frost date, when would you winter sow that pkg).

Where do you put your seeds? (This year I was thinking of putting them against the foundation,under the eaves on the south side of the house. The snow will fall on them and rain will splash up on them.)

Do you have garden-ready seedlings by your last frost date?

How tall do you expect the seedlings to get before transplaning them into the garden? (or do you put into another pot?)

I've been trying to talk myself out of this all day, but I already bought the seeds!

Thanks for any info you care to share.

PattiOh

Comments (31)

• flowered-corners
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

just a beginner, but i found so much information on wintersow forum. i learn not to read seed bags just germination databases.they even have one that shows what others have done in your area, good or bad.I too have never took seed to plant though i have tried.this seemed easy, but i new questions all the time.the forum is very helpful.good luck

• PattiOH
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Yes Flowered-