SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
treebarb

Pseudotsuga Menziesii 'Graceful Grace' Zone pushing

treebarb Z5 Denver
13 years ago

I've ordered a 1 gallon from forest farm. In perusing the catalog again I see it's a zone 6 plant and I'm zone 5. I know doug fir is hardy here, but didn't realize the weeping form was less cold tolerant. The zone wasn't listed on the website when I ordered it, but still. What a rookie mistake!

I have a protected spot for it with southern exposure and some wind protection, but I'm still concerned that I'll be wasting my money on it. We had several days of -20 degree temps this winter and will in the future.

Do you think I'd be better off canceling it and replacing it with Pinus strobus Pendula Weeping White Pine?

I'm a conifer newbie and this will be my first selection of a weeping conifer. I don't have my heart set on a particular cultivar, I'd just like to try a weeper.

I am one of those Colorado Front Rangers with clay soil and a 7.9 ph, so choices are limited.

Thanks,

Barb

Comments (13)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    13 years ago

the pine is TOTALLY bulletproof in my z5 .. and i consider pines to grow like weeds in MI ... you will love that plant ...

i do have various Pseudotsuga Menziesii, including Grace in my z5 MI garden .... some in spots exposed to winter sun and winter wind.. seem to struggle.. but they do survive ... so siting is imperative ...

but frankly.. for a newbie.. go with the pine ... love it.. it will reward you .. and you will be enabled ...

and try a zone pusher in a few years.. when you have more experience.. and have killed a few ... lol ..

the pine will need to be staked to the height you want.. and probably retied at least 3 or 4 times per year ...

so if you goal is say 6 feet .. go get an 8 or 9 foot stake.. and bam it in there .. so that for the next few years.. you can keep tying it upwards ...

once its trunk gets thick enough, the stake can be removed ...