SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
suzymac_gw

Pruning group 2's as group 3's experiment

suzymac
18 years ago

Quite some time ago there was a heated debate here as to whether all group 2's could be pruned heavily in late winter and treated as group 3's- hard prune types. In warmer climates this is quite successful (it is said by some) but the bloom will be later than usual. I have no experience with warmer zones, just my own.

I was absolutely certain that heavily pruning all my group 2's would NOT leave sufficient time for the plants to form enough hard wood to trigger buds in my cold, coastal zone 6-A. (I had had past experience by accidentally 'pruning' a few group 2's one year and had no flowers from them that year at all). The debate got a bit too heated for good intents and it was difficult to convince certain 'knowledgeable' folks who lived in slightly warmer climates that their rules didn't necessarily apply to ALL zones !

Anyway....I promised then to prove my point yet AGAIN by intentionally pruning several of my beautiful and mature group 2's to 12" at the end of winter, as an experiment and said I would report my findings here.

Two clematis from group 2, (light prune type )were chosen for this experiment. Nelly Moser, a strong grower who is often treated as a group 3 in warmer climates by many and Guernsey Cream, a REAL group 2, in my experience. Both were pruned at the end of March when the snow was still on the ground in places around my property.

Here are the findings as of this date, when summer is beginning to wind down and all my clematis ARE NOW FINISHING their bloom cycle or HAVE already finished blooming, with the exception of Sweet Autumn- a fall bloomer:

Nelly Moser had 3 small blooms at the bottom of the vine