SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rufusthecat_gw

Moving to SoCal from NY. Help me find a town.

rufusthecat
15 years ago

Hi all,

I will be moving to the SoCal area from Long Island NY in January and I'm wondering a couple of things.

1. Where is the best place to live for gardeners? I'm looking for proximity to great nurseries (wholesale&retail), like-minded individuals, great public gardens.

2. I've been looking online at houses and notice that the lots are tiny (by LI, NY standards). In what SoCal town am I likely to find a house that has the potential to grow an interesting garden on more than a 1/4 acre (for less than $1.2M dollars..oh and it should be safe and family friendly).

3. I am a landscape designer here in NY and tend to work on large properties w/sizable budgets. Usually over $150K and up to $500K. Is it likely that I can continue to do this in CA? With lots being so small...I'm curious. Thanks for all and any advice you can give. (I currently have a comfortably sized house (3000sqft) with a professional office for my business attached. We live on .65 of an acre with a pool walking dist to the ocean. This will be hard to give up, but winters won't be!!!) I'm looking forward to the move.

Comments (16)

• socal23
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Do you have a specific city or county in Southern California? Just as with real estate everywhere else the key to price is location. You can get acreage relatively cheaply if you go for a more rural area such as Santa Paula or Fillmore; you might even find something to your liking in your price range in Malibu as long as your heart isn't set on an ocean view. Other posters can describe areas further south.

Ryan

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA
    15 years ago

First you should decide either inland or coastal.
    There is quite a difference in your comfort and what to grow etc. You probably want to be within an hour of the ocean I'm assuming.
    Right now you probably can get a deal with great credit.