SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ingrid_vc

Helping Vintage Rose Garden

After reading Gregg Lowery's message on the Vintage site, I've decided to do all I can to help him keep Vintage open. I don't need any more roses, having ordered more than I need already a few weeks ago, but I think this is too valuable a resource to lose. I know these are tough economic times for everyone, and some of us cannot buy roses, but I hope that those who can will do so. I'm going to try to concentrate on the smaller roses so I can more easily find places for them, and will ruthlessly dispose of those that aren't doing well or I don't care for. Desperate times call for desperate measures. I think Gregg very much needs our help at this crucial time.

Ingrid

Comments (29)

• rosecorgis
    15 years ago

To any of you who haven't tried old garden roses yet, you should take this opportunity to try it out! I just did.

I've been growing hybrid teas and floribundas for about 15 years, just like my mom did. I always got my roses from local nurseries or bare root. Then, I found the Old Garden Rose forum here. I started lurking, reading posts and learning. There are some wonderful old roses with long histories that are completely different from what I was used to. Most have much prettier bush forms than the hybrid teas, and most have less disease. They come in all sizes and colors and forms and smell fantastic.

I'm redoing my front garden, so I ordered some from Vintage. The people at Vintage are super nice, they shipped just when they said they would, and their little "bands" came with very thorough instructions. What's a band? It's a 4" pot that's about 6" long and holds one baby rose. They're little things when you get them. You repot them for a while to let them grow up, then plant them like a normal potted rose.