SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
albrechtnatural

looking for advice on black soldier maggots in Compost

albrechtnatural
14 years ago

My compost bin is wriggling with what seem to be black soldier fly larvae. they are everywhere! and seem to be rapidly breaking down all the green components of the pile leaving lots of undecomposed brown material. I was told by a gardening teacher the compost pile is in poor health but i'm not sure what i can do to remedy it. should i just start over? i'm new to composting. I may have made my brown layers too thin and not shredded the old leaves enough

I find a lot on the web about BSF maggots in worm bins and that they are helpful but what about in a regular compost pile?

it seems i could fish them out and give them to someone who has chickens?

i would be grateful for any feedback from seasoned composters..

Comments (30)

• spaghetina
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm absolutely not a seasoned composter, but just had a run in with the BSFL recently. I stopped feeding my pile any greens for a couple weeks, and picked them out as often as I could. They're gone now, as far as I can tell.

• rj_hythloday
    14 years ago

A search here will tell you way more than I could in one post. Some will come along and tell you you're pile is too wet. I'm w/ the group that just leaves 'em be. I turn the pile weekly, and add from the kitchen almost daily. I'm not worried about BSFL they are part of natures composting crew.

• Related Discussions

Do Black Soldier Fly Larvae need a way out of my composting bin?

Q

Comments (10)