SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mseifert_gw

Greenhouse Design - Review Plans

mseifert
10 years ago

I could use help with the following gothic greenhouse design. As I am a complete novice with greenhouses, I would really appreciate feedback. Its purpose is to extend my very short growing season - but I will not use it in the winter. We are in the mountains of Idaho with heavy snowfall - using public data (and the design of 12:12 pitch) gives us a roof load of 52 psf. There is no electricity, so all cooling will be passive.

The greenhouse will be 15' wide and 28' long and 11' high. I am planning to use 1" rigid conduit (1.315 OD) with bows spaced every 4 feet, a 12:12 pitch, and cross bracing. There will be 3 conduit perlins (one ridge and one on either side) as well as 2x3 wooden perlins spaced every 2 feet to attach the polycarbonate to. I will be using 8mm twin wall polycarbonate sheeting for the roof/sides and end walls (which will be 2x4 framed). The bows will be connected to ground stakes (larger conduit) driven two feet into the ground and also strapped to the bed frames (for added weight)

For ventilation, on each end wall, I plan on having two massive opening doors (~4' x ~8') plus a triangular window above each door that goes up to the ridge. I believe I can design a 6" wide ridge vent which runs the 28' length of the gh between where the polycarbonate roof sheets end at the ridge.