SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dobbers_gw

Looking for A Quality Container Potting Soil...

dobbers
14 years ago

Can anyone point me in the best direction for a good potting soil. I don't have a lot of room and have almost all my plants in containers and need to redo everything!! I made the severe mistake of buying a terrible mix and now Im paying for it. Many of my plants are stunted, others have died, and few are thriving. Soil compaction is my major issue here. I bought a bunch of that big box hyponex stuff and now need to replace. Suggestions? I live in South Florida, we get heavy rains almost daily during this time of the year. I'm not opposed to tossing the garbage that I have, but if there are good options available to amend it thats fine. Also, I have no problem mixing my own ingredients to make the best container soil for my situation. Thanks!!

btw - i've read extensively the lengthy posts on this subject and was more lost that I was before. Al and Ted's extensive knowledge is impressive but for me the specifics and subsequent application are tough to pin down.

Comments (59)

• justaguy2
    14 years ago

On the topic of alpine succulents:

I have grown them in various mixes from store bought peat mixes to the gritty mix. I also grow them on a layer of gravel over clay soil in ground. In all cases these plants are outside year round.

What i have found is that in the summer or any time temps are warm the potting mix (or ground soil) isn't of major importance. In the winter/early spring it is.

I have had a lot of plants winter fine and then rot in late winter/early spring no matter what they are growing in.

This is due to cold rains common in Wisconsin. To put it plainly, the 'secret' to growing alpine succulents is partially in the mix as they never like wet feet, but even more so it's preventing them from getting wet over the winter. A fast draining mix that doesn't hold a lot of water is a good idea, but...