SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_188996773704

Overwhelmed By The Kitchen Quoting Process

Total renovation newbie here. I am interested in a kitchen renovation, and it is the first big renovation I have ever tackled before. I am finding myself overwhelmed by the process even in the beginning stages.

I've always thought that you called 2-3 companies out to your house, they measured, asked what you wanted, and then provided a quote. I am learning that assumption was wrong and I clearly don't have an understanding of this process. Each company I have contacted is requiring payment for "consultation" or design services before I can see a quote at all.

I understand that design takes time and expertise, and I am not adverse to paying a qualified person for their expertise and talent.

I guess what confuses me is that I have to pay 3 separate consultation/design fees just to price out different contractors? Each company is requesting anywhere from $100-$1500 for this, So that means that I will need to pay about $3000-$4500 just to compare 3 different kitchen quotes? Having never done a project this large before, I am not used to being asked for payment before getting quotes. Is this just a standard reno cost now Post Covid, to have to pay to get a quote? It kind of feels like you just have to pick a company, and hope it works out because you have to invest some money in before you can even get started. Is getting multiple quotes a thing of the past? Or does it just depend on what area you live in?

Comments (24)

• Amanda Weatherly
    Original Author
    last year