SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
plllog

More Rhubarb

plllog
last year
last modified: last year

The rhubarb this year (from farm) was so good and plentiful, I kind of overdid it. :) I made a couple of Lindac's best ever rhubarb pies, but they're very sweet so I started playing with less sweet ideas. For pie, I did a double crust kind of like Mom's apple pie, but white flour crust. Chopped the rhubarb, and put it in a zipper bag overnight in the fridge with a modest amount of sugar a little powdered dry ginger and some tapioca. It threw a lot of liquid, and I added a small amount of arrowroot starch (because it was quick to grab rather than the tapioca starch). I didn't want the pie to be runny. It's not. :) It tastes grand, but I can't decide if the ginger brings out the flavor of the rhubarb or muddies it. The edges of the bottom crust froze in the fridge drawer while i was rolling the top. And the top crust tore as I was lifting it. The pie was for home. I couldn't have fixed both, and done a protein wash, to make it pretty, but I couldn't be bothered. :)

Then there's rhubarb bread. I was hoping for pink, but it's just a pleasant tan. It's actually rhubarb orange juice bread. For a one pound loaf, 2 cups of small diced rhubarb and enough OJ to just about cover it, liquified in the blender, and used as the "water" for the bread. The result is really good. A mostly closed crumb (the norm for the base recipe), very springy, subtle flavor a bit sweet and sour. But it is subtle. I'd make it again, no problem, if I had extra rhubarb, but it doesn't highlight the rhubarb. It's just very good, tasty bread.