SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
samtrz

Recourse for Major Stone Fabricator Error?? Help!!

samtrz
2 years ago
last modified: 2 years ago

......That's not how that's supposed to go?

We're first-time remodelers and as such first-time new-counter-top-buyers. We were not expecting any of this, and have no idea what kind of recourse exists for this type of situation. Please tell us what we should do?

(As a side note - I'm an editor/designer/project manager by trade, and I am just absolutely flummoxed - FLUMMOXED I tell you -- at the lack of critical thinking, attention to detail, and professionalism that we saw here. I really expected this would be a field in which those things were all required.)

The Gist

• We asked for a very specific layout for our quartzite, was told by fabricator that it would be possible, although "not perfect." (Duh, it's natural stone). We even used their cut template to digitally place the cuts on the slabs to show proof-of-concept.
  • We told the fabricator we were always available to review it, answer questions, and wanted to be contacted if it looked like it wasn't going to work. I said I would drive the 10 minutes over to them to help with taping out the slabs if that's what was needed.
  • After basically ghosting us for 3 weeks (initial estimate was 1-2 weeks from measurement...), they installed it, and it looks wrong. After comparing the final cuts to the plan, I realize they have rotated one of the slabs 180 degrees, and that is why none of the patterning matches up.
  • After calling to tell the fabricator this, they are saying that "they did exactly what we asked" and also that "the plan was never going to work because the slabs aren't mirrored." (they were.)

Where we're at:

• We paid 1/3 up front. They are requesting final payment, but I am withholding while we figure out how we want this fixed.