SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
emma_lou2

Plan design dilemma

Em
2 years ago

Short version: Looking for advice on how to handle this situation with an architect - when the plan just isn’t working.

long version: I’m designing a custom home with an architect. At our first meeting I brought a sketch. I’m a terrible artist and no architect, and I told her I was reluctant to even show her the sketch because I didn’t want her to feel like she had to follow it and wanted her to use her creativity to make something functional. I had examples of exteriors I like at that time too. When we got our plan, it was pretty much my sketch to a tee and didn’t work at all. We made a lot of changes and finally got something workable. I was so excited! And then she sent the exterior elevations. It doesn’t work at all and doesn’t look a bit like any Inspiration photo I shared. And as I’ve spent all weekend looking at it, I see zero potential without drastically altering the interior... which honestly I’m okay with doing. I will compromise some of the things I wanted on the interior to help out the exterior.

today, I found a southern living plan I LOVE and is what I wanted her to do - it has all the spaces my sketch had, in the same general areas (ex: clustered instead of split bedrooms), but was done much better and actually works! I’m almost ready to just buy the plan, however I know the rear garage may not work on our land.