ilovetogrow

Hosta Companions 2020

Who do you like to grow next to your hostas? Show them today:

Next: Green hostas

I thought this was a super shot

Have a great day everyone!

Comments (87)

• 3 years ago

Lovely hydrangeas and a fat and sassy squirrel too! We have been overrun by grey squirrels in my area which have driven out the reddish brown squirrels that we always had. Yours looks quite content surveying the area. It must meet with his/her approval lol

• 3 years ago

miles..that squirrel is tame..see how when I was taking the picture he looked at me like "oh Hi"..it's our fault..we buy dry roasted unsalted peanuts for the birds..but the squirrels eat most of them..the squirrels are a nuisance in the summer digging in my pots..the nut buffet will be closing in 2 months..

• Related Discussions

Designing with Hostas / Hosta Companions

Q

Comments (2)
    Thanks, inlimbo, for your reference to a very nice article. I'm not an expert, as so many are on this great forum, but I do have plantaginea. To me, your problem has a simple solution. Split each of the two specimens you have outside your bedroom window, and plant the other halves at the end of your perennial bed. Have your cake and eat it. The beauty of plantaginea is that it recovers very quickly from surgery. We did this: put the spade right down the middle, and took out the transplant with soil intact, leaving the other half alone. We found that within a year, each plant left behind looked as large as it ever had before the surgery. This hosta grows like a weed for us, even in considerable sun. I hope someone else will give you a second opinion. What works for one doesn't necessarily work for all. Steve
    ...See More

My Hosta Garden in June 2020

Q

Comments (30)