SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
louislinus

Sad Roses - Black Spot and Maybe other issues

louislinus
3 years ago

This is the 3rd year for my roses and they have hardly bloomed at all. There is black spot and general malaise. 😂 We also had Japanese beetles but I think I’ve gotten rid of them. You can see some are doing better than others.

I’m new to roses and not sure what to do. I’ve read a bunch of different information on how to get rid of black spot but not sure which tactic to take. Any other tips you have are much appreciated. I’m in zone 6a. These are mostly David Austins.

Comments (55)

• Sheila z8a Rogue Valley OR
    3 years ago

Louis, what exposure are they facing? Could it be sun they are lacking if they are leggy and not blooming? The DA size guesses are all wrong for the US.

Vaporvac is a wonderful gardener on these forums, and she is gardening in Ohio. I hope she pitches in with ideas.

If a plant is too large for it's spot, trimming a rose back would help on some level but some just regrow too large again.

Whatever, I don't see any of this causing permanent harm to your plants into next year.

• louislinus
    Original Author
    3 years ago

Thanks Sheila! That makes me feel a lot better. I was nervous I might lose all my babies!

• Related Discussions

Black Spot Issues (with pictures)

Q

Comments (14)