SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
wilhaines

Azalea Questions - Central Indiana Zone 5-6

Wil Haines
3 years ago

Hello. I'm new to azalea's and rhododendrons. The questions that I have are how much to water, fertilize, etc. The 1st and 2nd photo show a rhododendron that is yellowing on the lower part of the plant. The 3rd photo is another of the same plant, but seems to be doing much better although I'm beginning to see some minor (at this point) yellowing of this plant as well. The 1st and 2nd photos (same plant) are in a flat mulched area 4-5 feet away from the foundation. The 3rd is 10' away and is located on the top of a mounded area. I've only added azalea food in the spring, but have faithfully watered the plants all spring and summer. I water around each plant and try to keep water off of the plant as I water. Is the yellowing due to too much water, too little water, or something else, i.e., lack of fertilizer. The 4th photo is an azalea that was planted this late spring and appears to be thriving, but not without the brown spots on the leaves most of the summer.