SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
housemeetshome

Can I get some feedback on tree selection for front yard- Z9a Sunset11

Elle L
4 years ago

Hi, I am a newbie here and have scoured the tree forum for ideas and input I can use for my own space. I finally decided to make my own post. We have a front yard divided into two parts by the driveway, attaching pictures (please be kind we are renovating and hope to make things a lot more beautiful than they currently are). Our front is Western exposure and I'll be referencing the sections as if I were standing at the street looking at the house. On the right (South) side front we have a 36 year old Lace Bark Elm tree and two smaller Ash Trees planted by the previous owners. In the center left of the driveway was a raised planter with a 36 year old Sycamore that succumbed to disease and we had to have it professionally removed. We have since removed the raised bed there as it was really dated and an obstacle for the cars in the driveway. Which brings me to my dilemma. The entire left (North) side from the planter area on is SO barren. Its just lawn, nothing else and we lost all the nice shade the Sycamore cast over our front windows, not to mention the beautiful view from inside which is now of my neighbor's garage. However, I am afraid anything we plant will look dwarfed compared to our Elm on the right. I am a landscape amateur so I could be overthinking that aspect. The last variable to consider is that the neighbor to my left (North) has two large pines and pistache tree pretty close to our property line so I can't plant as far left as I would ideally prefer to because it would be too crowded.