SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
shawnahampton

Lots of showings, no offers -- feedback: Price is good

Shawna Hampton
5 years ago

I'm trying to sell my 4-bed, 2.5 bath home in a hot neighborhood in a so-called seller's market. It's been listed for 17 days, we've had 20+ showings, two open houses. And no offers.

We started out listing at $280K. The majority of the feedback from the showings indicated the price was good -- a few said the price was a "bit" high. We then lowered the price after a week to $275K. Again, after the price adjustment the majority of the feedback has been that price is good. A few have said, again, it's a bit high. The majority of the feedback on the actual house has been that it's beautiful and shows well (I'm an interior designer, so yeah it looks amazing). Just one or two people have said they wanted a finished basement (then why come look at a house with an unfinished walkout? it says so right in the listing!) or that they were disappointed there are no granite countertops. One person said they didn't like how many houses there were around ours (huh? you're looking at houses in the suburbs!) Here's the Zillow listing: https://www.zillow.com/homedetails/20622-W-126th-Ter-Olathe-KS-66061/91086120_zpid/?view=public

Our neighbors three houses down sold a month ago. They had 10 offers after 24 hours on the market, listed for $285K and sold for $295K. House appraised for $300K. Their house was a 4 bed, 3.5 bath, three car garage. Again, no granite but finished walkout. Those are the only differences (although pretty big ones), but we figured pricing it $20-25K below their actual sell price/appraisal would be appropriate given those facts. Here's their Zillow: https://www.zillow.com/homedetails/20658-W-126th-Ter-Olathe-KS-66061/91086119_zpid/

We even hired the same listing agent they had. That agent provided us a CMA saying our house was worth $276K.