SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
wilhaines

Orbit Atta-Boy!

Wil Haines
5 years ago

Recently sent a warning about the Bhyve problem with obtaining a Wi-Fi hub for the bluetooth hose controller. I also mentioned that one of my newer timer-only Orbit hose controllers stopped working. I sent Orbit a notice about the controller and, to my surprise, two new controllers arrived via UPS today. If that's not an atta-boy for the company, I don't know what is. They didn't even ask for the broken one to be returned. Thank you Orbit for great customer support and service. For established lawns needing an extra spot of water here and there, I think the timer-only models work just fine. I've been using them for a few years. I now have a complete in-ground sprinkler system ( approx. 12,000 sq. ft.) and still find these timer-only hose bib watering controllers to be very useful when a fixed watering schedule is in order for a small area. For new grass however, (and otherwise for that matter) I think the Bhyve (Wi-Fi enabled) controller is the berries inasmuch that you can control the hose bib system from your iPhone, computer, or whatever from wherever you are and have an internet signal. This allows you to keep the ground and new seeds moist without over-watering the lawn. I just over-seeded my lawn (20-25% bare) and and used my in-ground sprinkler Rachio wi-fi controller to schedule watering which ranged from 3 minutes per zone to about 20 minutes at times, depending upon the temperature, sun, wind, slope, etc. Since I have 15 zones, the 3-4 minute schedule allowed me to get moisture to the new seeds in a relatively short period of time and then usually followed by a more lengthy 10-20 minute watering at each zone, as appropriate. It seemed to work, so far. The Orbit Bhyve will do the same thing in smaller sections running off a hose bib. Pretty cool way to get a small lawn section re-seeded. In my opinion, re-seeding, in particular, is a tricky matter unless you have adequate wat