SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nyccitychic

Help! Co-op NYC Kitchen Reno @ a Standstill - Electrical Issue

nyccitychic
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

Hi All

I will try to make this as concise as possible. My kitchen is under renovation but at a complete standstill since Tuesday. I live in a coop in Forest Hills. The renovation had to be approved by the management company and coop requiring extensive and detailed paperwork. This is my first time renovating and I am dumbfounded that I am in this situation. I definitely know that both my contractor and mgmt company dropped the ball on this. But I am not 100% sure why or how yet and had a ton of questions about who is to blame. At this point, I really just want to resolve this issue as I don’t have an end in sight at the moment until a reasonable solution is found.

The scope of work for this electrical is as follows:

ELECTRICAL- UPGRADE CONNECTIONS

• [1]-DuplexoutletforRefrigerator

• [1]-DuplexoutletfortheRange

• [1]-Duplexoutletlocatedaboveslide-outhoodcabinet • [1]-Duplexoutletwithcontrolsinglepoleswitchtosuit

undercabinetlighting

• Supplyandinstall3RecessedLEDlightingatceiling

controlledbysinglepoleswitch

• [4]-Duplexoutletlocatedabovecoimter[CONVENIENCEOUTLETS] • [1]PowerfeedforDishwasher

As per my contractor, this usually does not require an electrical permit but the management company asked us to obtain. We, of course, complied which the contractor charged me 1000 to file.

While I was away on vacation, my contractor scheduled the electrician. What they discovered was that the circuit breaker is not in my apartment and the service panels located in the basement are unmarked and there for unable to isolate one apartment.