Windows Defender Good Enough?

ritaweeda

I've been told it's good enough on Windows 10. I have a new laptop with Windows 10 and an old desktop with Vista which is no longer supported by Windows. I have Norton installed on both. I would keep my existing Norton on the desktop but I'm wondering if I can shut it down on the laptop and use only Windows Defender. And please note I'm not tech savvy so if you get too technical I won't understand your answer.

SaveComment32Like
Comments (32)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
azinoh

Is there as reason to not continue using Norton? Is Norton causing a problem?

Save     Thanked by ritaweeda
Steve J

rita, here is a good link to read. Windows Defender is a pretty darn good anti-virus program, but that's all it really is. You want to couple it with a good anti-malware app as well, such as malwarebytes. Many techies I know prefer a dedicated anti-virus and and dedicated anti-malware because they tend to do a better job for their specific purpose. But, that also means you have two products to manage.

Assuming your Norton product is their full suite, it's a better product than just Windows Defender in that it protects againts more things than just anti-virus.

Personally, I have Comcast, and they offer Norton for free, so I use that. Before that, I used McAfee, also free from Comcast. I know I could find a better product... but in the 15+ years I've used the free Comcast offerings, I've not been infected on any of the 12+ computers I've had or managed for my family.

mikie_gw

Disable Adobe Flash, which is on its way out anyways, use an ad-blocker & windows Edge combined with Windows Defender and you have good protection. But the guy at the keyboard or mouse, no matter what anti-virus program they have, needs always to be thinking and on the alert of where they are, where they are going & what they click.