SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jmamchur

Stainless Steel Backsplash behind range...maintence issues?

Jocelyn M
6 years ago

I'm wondering if anyone has experience with living with a stainless steel backsplash for their range. I've seen some beautiful photos, but am wondering how easy it is to keep clean and pristine. I've never had stainless steel appliances (always paneled) so I have no experience with the fingerprint issue at all.

my old range had a back on it, with the clock and burner dials, so that part definitely got splashed (and was a paint to clean!). My new range is moreso like the one below (it's a thermador pro-harmony)

I've attached a photo to show what I mean. Do I just wipe it clean? If you have a stainless backsplash, would you do it again?

Comments (38)

• M
    6 years ago

When I saw the cost of what a "real" backsplash costs, I paid $35 at my local metal yard for a sheet of stainless and glued it to the wall in the in-law kitchen.

It looks great, and is generally easy to clean. But I find it is difficult to keep in absolute pristine show-kitchen condition. The frequently are minor streaks.

Not sufficiently noticeable to bother me though. That was $35 very well spent!

Jocelyn M thanked M
  • Related Discussions

Stainless Steel Backsplash

Q

Comments (5)
    Never fear - if you love it, that's all that matters. It took 5 years to decide what I wanted (& could afford) for a backsplash & then it hit me: If I use copper on my bs, stainless will be perfect behind the stove. Materials for both are not overly expensive (I have a very small bs) & I can do the installation so overall cost is low & the look goes with anything (& looks like it cost a lot more than it did!). And it's timeless - & easy to care for. You're gonna love it. Hester
    ...See More

Stainless steel backsplash with 4' granite backsplash? Need advi

Q

Comments (1)