SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jojoco_gw

Anyone do yoga?

jojoco
6 years ago

I took my first yoga class yesterday after years of wanting to try it. It was a "welcome to the mat" class designed for absolute beginners. I really liked it, and felt old muscle memory from years of ballet classes as a child. I know I'm going to be sore tomorrow, but I plan on sticking with it. It is a four week session with the option to sign up for other classes later.

So those of you who do it, does it take forever for the poses to become second nature? I have to think about each part of the pose (my arms, my back, my knees) it is hardly a flow. I can't wait till I can just string things together.

But, on the other hand, the few minutes of meditation we did at the end came very easily to me. Evidently, I have a naturally blank mind. :)

Jo

Comments (27)

• fouramblues
    6 years ago

Congratulations on taking the plunge! Yoga is such a great way to exercise body and mind. I did yoga with DVDs for a decade before getting around to signing up for my first real class a year ago. (And that only happened because a class started up in the church right across the street from me! I’m lazy about leaving the house to work out.) I did have a few bad habits because for years I had nobody to correct me, but I was surprised how quickly that all got worked out. I still do regular check-ins (pelvic bowl level? knee not rolling in? ears down and over shoulders?) but it doesn’t interrupt the flow at all. Have fun with this!

• Sueb20
    6 years ago

I love yoga. I started maybe 5 years ago with a very remedial beginner class. Then I sort of got away from it until a cozy, friendly new yoga studio opened in my town and I became a regular there. Once again, I’ve gotten away from it and my New Years resolution is to get back into a routine again.