SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
straysod

Compost Tumbler not producing compost?

straysod
6 years ago

I'm relatively new to gardening, and have never tried composting before. But I hated throwing away vegetable scraps and yard waste knowing (or having read about) how valuable compost is as a soil amendment. So I purchased a compost tumbler a few months ago. It has two chambers, and everything I've read told me that I could fill one side up, then leave it alone to cook while I add new stuff to the second side.

I fill up one side of the tumbler over a few weeks with daily additions of coffee grounds, tea leaves, vegetable scraps and some cardboard and paper towels (torn into roughly 2 inch pieces). I also occasionally toss in any relatively weed-free yard waste that I can, usually roughly chopped up prunings from my massive sage bush. When one side gets full, I leave it alone and start adding to the other side. I expected that the cardboard and some of the woodier stems would probably need to go through a few cycles before it really breaks down, so my plan was to leave one full side to cook until the other side was full, then screen the "finished" side, putting the large, uncomposted items back in the tumbler and spreading the finer compost as mulch in my garden.