SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lovekcdillas

Considering leaving job because of commute

7 years ago

Hi all - I currently commute 80 miles a day for work (in Los Angeles traffic), which ends up being 2.5 to 3 hours each day in the car, alone. I've been working for my company for 2 years now, and while they have a ride share program, there isn't anyone that lives near me to carpool with, and aside from there also not being any vanpool options near me, that would only further lengthen my work day. Anyone in LA can tell you public transit isn't great, and not really an option for me. I feel myself starting to reach the breaking point of just hating sitting in traffic every day, and turning an 8-hour work day into a close to 12-hour work day, 5 days a week, every week (and once a month, I have to pick up a weekend 'half shift' as well, which still ends up being a 7+ hour day with the drive).