SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kris_shifler

Please critique this restoration plan - zone 6b

Kris Shifler
7 years ago

I stumbled across this forum when I Googled "should i aerate or till my lawn for renovation?", and discovered that I should do neither. I've learned more in this forum in the last 4 hours than in the last 3 days of Googling. Thank you to all of the contributors.

I bought a soil test kit earlier this week and will be sending it in this weekend. 7-10 days for results. South Central PA, zone 6b. My house is 45 years old, and I'm guessing the lawn has never had much done to it. There are bare areas where we removed shrubs, rampant weeds, thin grass. I've been applying fertilizer and weed killer for several years with little to no results. So I've decided on a complete renovation this fall. Three distinct sections of yard - back, front left, front right. Front right has a large tree and shade, less than 4 hours of sunlight during the summer. The other two sections are mostly sunny. So with much of the info I've gathered here, this is my renovation plan and timeline. I'll add the specific soil amendments pending the results of the soil test.

Target seed date: 9/11/16

Grass seed: KBG mix in sunny sections, KBG/fescue/rye mix in shady area

Water: hoses and sprinklers

• Test soil, get results – 7/23, results by 8/1
  • Remove shrubs and stumps, clean up debris;
    remove fence and posts – 7/23?
  • Bring in topsoil, fill post holes, any other
    holes – 8/6
  • Kill vegetation, two rounds, two weeks apart;
    fill holes – 8/20-9/3
  • Power rake ground, remove thatch; spread soil
    amendments, fertilizer, power rake again – 9/10
  • Spread seed, spray Tenacity; roll with lawn
    roller; spread straw – 9/11