SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
misterunderhill

Logan Labs Soil Test Results advice - high phos., low nutrients

misterunderhill
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

Hi all, I'm looking for some collective wisdom regarding the results of my soil test. I've been reading the various soil test threads and want to be sure I'm on the right path.

A little background: I'm new to this property. It's a small, shady backyard in a semi-urban area (houses fairly close together, concrete driveway and paths, a parking lot behind the fence in the back). Last fall I put in some grass after clearing out the weeds & overgrowth. I tilled in some compost prior to seeding and followed a basic fertilization schedule: starter fert. and rapid-lime (calcitic) at seeding (I used a Rapitest litmus test to guesstimate pH), half-rate of starter fert about a month later, then a final high-nitro winterizing fertilizer before the winter. I haven't added anything to the Lawn since then. I have kelp/humic sprays, compost tea, and SBM on deck but I was waiting to see the results of the tests first.

The Test Results

I also sent three other samples to Logan for the plant beds that surround the Lawn. The Lawn test results are highlighted in yellow:

If this is hard to read (houzz seems to shrink all images), you can see a full-size version here

My Interpretation

1. pH - I knew the soil was acidic (judging by the Rapitest) but was surprised to see it this low in the lawn area, especially as I had limed it last fall though at less than bag-rate (I wasn't sure how much or how fast it would impact pH). The azaleas & rhododendron will be happy.

2. EC & OM - These seem to be some of the few positives. The ECs echo my soil jar tests - silt loam to loamy sand, but mostly sandy loam.

2. P - The high phosphorus was alarming but from what I've been reading in other threads there isn't much to be done other than to avoid more phosphorus.