SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ocean197913

Are Your Mango Trees YAY or NAY This Year?

Mia Miami
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

Are Your Mango Trees YAY or NAY This Year? and where are you located? I'm in North Miami, FL and this year my tree is NAY :( last year it was YAY!. I've been renting here for 4 yrs and it seems the tree that is part of my rental area is either YAY or SAD every other year. Last year at this time I was filling my freezer with chopped mango and couldn't give them away fast enough. Last year a month or two ago I was raking up tons of tiny golf ball and marble sized mangos and this year hardly anything has fallen and up in the trees there are about 3% the amount of mangoes that there were last year. They are almost about the size of a tennis ball. Sad. I was hoping for another freezer full this year :( I'll be lucky if I get 25 decent ones this season.

Comments (131)

• jofus, ( Englewood, Fl zone 10a )
    7 years ago

Hi Nancy, Good to know ( in a sympathetic way ) that I am not the only one trying to confront these crafty critters. Have learned over the last 16 years that it goes with the territory, as I'm sure you also know.
    Swore I saw my wabbit yesterday morning, as he emerged from his trench under my wooden fence, holding up a sign saying " Rabbit Lives Matter Too ! "
    ! can't argue with that. He'll get his and I'll get mine,..even tho it looks like I may lose the war, I am content.
    Maybe it's the way it should be,..as right now I am harvesting more than I can handle,..almost ! ( smile ) But to update the score, as I came home 1 1/2 hrs ago, I immediately went out back and found TWO RIPE ORANGE.YELLOW BEAUTIES in the grass under the Glenn tree !! New score : Critter 6 ; Jofus 6 !!
    Glad to hear your trees are at least putting out some mango's, the most delicious fruits I have ever eaten ! Up north, I thought peaches were the ultimate !
    Fairly similar, but I now think that mango's are # 1 !