SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
emcsq

Okna 500 vs. Simonton 5500

emcsq
8 years ago

We have received quotes for both Okna 500 and Simonton 5500 replacement windows. We still need to do more research on the Simonton 5500 ratings, but I am wondering, if all things are equal on the installation, what should the price difference be? We are replacing 22 windows, 20 of which are double-hung. I know that Okna is a higher-end window, but I did not expect the quote to be 40% higher than the Simonton 5500. I have a high degree of confidence in both installers. Does this sound right?

Comments (36)

• PRO
    User
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

We dont comment on price here because it can be regional as well as a host of other various factors. I can tell you that the okna 500 is a better product, there is no disputing that. The okna wins on all fronts: looks, lower Ufactor, MUCH lower air infiltration rating. The okna is probably more money and for good reason, its a better window.

the simonton is a very old design and its also very bulky. They really need to update that window. It also has a high infiltration rating which is a total deal breaker for me. Im not here to totally push the okna brand ,in fact there are a few other brands i like very much as well but in this case, the okna is a very clear winner.

• emcsq
    Original Author
    8 years ago

OK, thank you very much, Window1. It is a nice window, I was just surprised at the extreme difference. We recently upgraded our HVAC system and added insulation to the attic, so I would say that we are not desperate for low air flow rates (although I do still need to look at the NFRC numbers for Simonton).

• Related Discussions

Simonton 5500 patio door vs Pella/Andersen

Q

Comments (5)