SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
elbartoss

Help/advice on tropical/sub-tropical plants planted in ground/pot!

El Bartoss
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

Hi there!

Hope you guys can give me some advice. So this is my first year growing tropicals/sub tropicals/hardy fruit trees here in Rome, Italy (zone 9-10). I'll tell you what I did and what went good/bad. So I purchased many (way too many) fruit trees + seeds of all kind from a-z during the winter 2015.

In August 2015 I came back to my apartment and I had a jungle in my balcony... Almost every tropical from a-z and other fruit trees. First I repotted some in a good sterile soil with drainage matter on bottom and natural fertiliser and then I brought the light sensible plants (cocoa) inside a small pvc greenhouse. Second I took my car and brought a major of those plants (only the grafted trees, not the seedlings) to my house near the beach which has a big soil space available. I used the soil that was already there (unfortunately) and planted them.

In November 2015 I came back and placed some mulch + frost cloth protection only on the tropicals. In February 2016 I came back and 1 cocoa, 14 papayas and 2 cherry plants were dead. I brought more plants + seedlings and planted them everywhere in the garden. So far everything is good, the plants in my apartment where brought outside in the balcony since the colder months have passed and the frost protection was removed from the plants in the garden.

What in my opinion went wrong was: the transplant in the ground, in the wrong moment and with no fresh soil with beneficial fungus. The cherries died since I think the soil was very heavy and they suffocated... It's strange that the tropicals look more healthy in this ground than hardy fruit trees like cherries and apples. Whilst the papayas and cocoa died for insufficient protection. The plants in pot all survived, another cocoa was in danger because of pests (now it's recovering).